Trustees & Committees

The LI Science and Engineering Board of Trustees, composed of 11 members, meet once a month during the 10-month school calendar and, if necessary, they may call a special meeting during the summer months of July and August. Most of the meetings are completely open to interested parties but occasionally the Board meets in Executive Session but only after an open period was provided.

The meetings are usually the Third Thursday of the month unless a conflict arises that would prevent a quorum of trustees from attending, such as a school vacation or attendance at the International Science and Engineering Fair; if a conflict arises, the meeting is rescheduled.  The dates are available on the Important Dates page.  The June meeting is composed of a regular monthly meeting followed by an Executive Session for our Annual Meeting. 

Trustees have a maximum of a three-year term before they must submit to a new election. As the Trustees are placed in “classes” as defined in our by-laws, 3-4 trustees are up for re-election each year.  Persons interested in serving on our board must send a resume to during the month of May for consideration at our Annual June meeting.

Criteria for selection include an interest in the promotion of scientific inquiry and discovery in the LI schools and the willingness to participate in the work involved in providing the opportunity for students to present their research endeavors at our three fairs. The vote requires a majority of our board.

Current Trustees and Officers of the LI Science and Engineering Fair, Inc.
President   Angela Lukaszewski
Vice-President   Veronica Ade
Treasurer   Chris Pollatos
 Secretary   Heather Hall
Trustee   Dr. Mary Hendrickson
Trustee   Dr. Joyce Hilgeman
Trustee   Christopher Hoppner
Trustee   Dr. Michael Lake
Trustee   Starlyn O'Shea
Trustee   Dr. David Ralston


Fair Directors
LISEF Fair Director   Angela Lukaszewski
JV Fair Director   Heather Hall
Middle School Fair Co-Directors   Starlyn O'Shea


Committee Chairs and Other Roles
Operations Co-Chairs   Christopher Hoppner
SRC Chair   Angela Lukaszewski
Special Awards Chair   Dr. Mary Hendrickson
LISEF Judges’ Co-Chairs   Dr. Michael Lake & Dr. Joyce Hilgeman
ISEF Arrangements Chair   Chris Pollatos
Fundraising Chairs  
Alumni Chairs   Sandy Polan & Starlyn O'Shea
Facebook Manager   Heather Hall
Website Manager   Veronica Ade
Safety Consultant  

SRC Committee

Angela Lukaszewski, Chair

Veronica Ade

Lisa Benincasa

William Bertolotti

Dr. Terrence Bissoondial

Alexis Blondrage

Maria Brown

Jeanette Collette

Victoria D'Ambrosia

Frederick Feraco

Dr. Stephanie Forsberg

Dr. David Friedman

Heather Hall

Dr. Mary Hendrickson

Dr. Joyce Hilgeman

Christopher Hoppner

Dr. David Kommor

Richard Kurtz

Dr. Michael Lake

Angela Lukaszewski

MaryLou O'Donnell

Starlyn O'Shea

Stephanie Piscitelli

Sondra Polan

Chris Pollatos

Dr. David Ralston

John Schineller

Raymond Tessar

Dr. James Truglio

Maria Zeitlin